Provider comparison

Compare UK mobile networks for SIM-only

Six mobile providers side by side for SIM-only: which network they use, 5G, contract options, EU roaming, eSIM and social tariffs. Every detail comes from the provider's own website. Prices and data allowances aren't shown because they change often.

Details checked 27 October 2026

CleverCompare is an independent comparison site. We may earn a commission if you click through to a provider. This never affects which providers we show or how we rank them. We don't give financial advice. How we make money.

EE

Network
Own network
5G
4G and 5G SIM-only plans
SIM-only contracts
  • 30-day rolling
  • 24 months
EU roaming
Not stated
eSIM
Not stated
Social tariff
EE Basics
Features
Stay Connected Data when your monthly data runs out
Visit EE

giffgaff

Network
O2's network
5G
On monthly rolling and pay as you go plans
SIM-only contracts
  • Monthly rolling
  • Pay as you go
  • 18 months
EU roaming
Included in its plans, with up to 5GB of data in the EU zone
eSIM
Yes, activated through the giffgaff app
Social tariff
None on Ofcom's list
Features
Tethering on all plans
Visit giffgaff

O2

Network
Own network
5G
Included on all Pay Monthly and Pay As You Go plans
SIM-only contracts
Not stated
EU roaming
Included on Pay Monthly SIMs, up to 25GB
eSIM
Yes, on compatible devices
Social tariff
O2 Essential Plan
Features
Data rollover on Plus and Ultimate plans
Visit O2

Sky Mobile

Network
Not stated
5G
Not stated
SIM-only contracts
  • 30 days
  • 12 months
  • 24 months
EU roaming
Daily Roaming Passport charge; no extra cost in the Republic of Ireland
eSIM
Yes, on SIM-only plans
Social tariff
None on Ofcom's list
Features
  • Roll over spare data for up to a year
  • Change your data plan whenever you like
Visit Sky Mobile

Three

Network
Combined Vodafone and Three network
5G
All SIMs, at no extra cost
SIM-only contracts
  • 30 days
  • 12 months
  • 24 months
EU roaming
Depends on plan: inclusive on some, daily Go Roam passes on others
eSIM
Yes, on SIM-only plans
Social tariff
None on Ofcom's list
Features
Three+ rewards
Visit Three

Vodafone

Network
Combined Vodafone and Three network
5G
Not stated
SIM-only contracts
  • 30 days
  • 12 months
  • 24 months
EU roaming
Zone A roaming included on all Pay Monthly plans
eSIM
Yes, on all SIM-only plans
Social tariff
None on Ofcom's list
Features
Secure Net Mobile on SuperMobile plans
Visit Vodafone

“Not stated” means we couldn't confirm it on the provider's own website when we checked. It doesn't mean the provider doesn't offer it — ask them.

How to use this table

Start with coverage: check how the network performs where you live and work, using the network's own coverage checker. Then think about how long you want to commit — a rolling plan gives flexibility, a longer contract can cost less — and whether you need EU roaming or eSIM. Compare current prices and data allowances on the provider's site.

Deciding between a new phone contract and SIM-only? Read is a SIM-only deal cheaper than a phone contract?

Common questions

Why doesn't this table show prices or data allowances?

SIM-only prices and allowances change often, sometimes weekly. Use the table to narrow down providers, then compare current plans on the provider's site.

Why does the network matter?

Some providers run on another operator's network — for example, giffgaff runs on O2's. Coverage where you live, work and travel depends on the network, so check the network's coverage checker for your postcode.

Can I keep my number if I switch?

Yes. Text PAC to 65075 to get a code that keeps your number, and give it to your new provider. Text STAC to 75075 if you don't need to keep it.

Will my phone work with a different network?

Phones sold in the UK since December 2021 can't be locked to a network. An older phone might still be locked, so check with your current provider before you switch.

How are the providers ordered?

Alphabetically. This table is a reference, not a ranking, and the order doesn't reflect commission or any judgement about which provider is best.

Sources

Details come from each provider's website, checked on the date shown. Social tariffs are from Ofcom's social tariffs list (updated 2 October 2026). Providers are listed alphabetically, not ranked. Packages change, so always confirm details with the provider before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.